What are the New Child Restraint Laws?
Georgia lawmakers recently passed a new bill, SB 88, which increases the age requirements for the use of child restraint systems. Children now have to be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat until they reach eight years of age. This new Georgia restraint law went into effect on July 1, 2011, and state troopers will attempt to enforce it.
Police officials are encouraging parents to stop by their local sheriff's office, police office, or fire department to get their child restraint system checked for safety and accuracy. If police find violators on the road, they will write citations.
The charges should be no more than $50 and one point on a driver's license for the first offense, and no more than $100 and two points on a license for multiple violations. Atlanta accidents can occur at any time, and children could be seriously injured as a result.
Protect your children from injuries by complying with this new state law. If your child was injured in a crash by a careless driver, please call a Georgia personal injury lawyer at Kalka & Baer LLC.