What Every Bicyclist Should Know
Tips for Traveling in Traffic
Georgia bicycle accidents that involve motor vehicles can be extremely serious, producing catastrophic injuries for victims. If bicyclists and motorists knew the Georgia bicycle laws, they could help reduce crashes resulting in injuries and fatalities.
What are the Georgia bicycle laws?
A bicycle is considered a legal vehicle on Georgia roads, which means that a bicyclist has to stop at the stop signs and signal lights and follow the same traffic rules as automobiles. There are certain laws that only a bicyclist has to follow, which include bicycle helmets, proper lighting, the number of passengers on a bicycle, as well as several others.
Bicyclists need to ride in the same direction as traffic and in the marked bicycle lanes. However, if the bike lane is not marked or is too narrow, then a bicyclist may ride with traffic while staying as far to the right of the road as possible. If the bike lane has not been maintained or there are serious safety hazards like pot holes, then the bicyclist should let the local authorities know in order for them to fix the road hazards.
Bicycle riders always need to keep one hand on the handlebars at any given time, and absolutely no one should be carried on the handlebars. Georgia bicycle laws allow for a cyclist to carry an infant in a sling, so long as the child is under the age of one. In addition, toddlers who are under five years of age can be transported in a child passenger bicycle seat or bicycle trailer that is properly attached to the bicycle according to the manufacturer's instructions.
A bicycle should be equipped with red reflectors and lights that are visible from 300 feet away. The red reflector should be placed on the back of the bike. Also, reflectors should be on each pedal and visible from the rear and front when riding. A white front light is required when riding at night, and it must be visible from 300 feet away. Cyclists should wear bright clothing or reflective gear when riding, even though it's not required.
Any bicyclist under the age of 16 is required to wear a helmet by law. The helmet has to be a proper fitting bicycle helmet, which will help to protect your head and face in the event of a crash. Any child on a bicycle must wear a helmet, or else a violation and fine may occur.