Use of Car Seats for Children
"What Georgia law regulates the use of car seats for children? And, what should I do if my child is in a car accident?"
On July 1, the Georgia Law requiring that all children under the age of 8 ride in a car seat or booster seat went into effect. The reasoning behind this law was based on research that found children ages 4-9 to be at higher risk of injury and death in car accidents. Children who are taller than 4 feet, 9 inches are exempt from the requirement and so are those children with a written statement from a physician. The price for violating this fine is $50 and one point added to your license. If you violate the law for a second time you will pay a $100 fine and get two points added to your license. If your child is in an automobile accident, please contact your pediatrician.